A Surprisingly Tasty Soup –50 calories a serving!


Anyone who has been on a fast or diet has probably had a cabbage soup. And sometimes they taste good only because you are so fracking hungry! But, I like veg and lots of veg. I started making a soup and stopped after 4 main ingredients because I had other things to do. So, I was surprised it tasted so good and was so satisfying!

cabbage beet soup
In honor of National Vampire Appreciation Day: True Blood Cabbage Soup!

    Ingredients:

  • small head of cabbage
  • 2 quarts fat free chicken stock
  • 7 large carrots
  • 2 large beets
  • olive oil
  • toasted sesame oil
  • balsamic vinegar

Method:
Slice a small head of cabbage, about the size of a softball like I would for cole slaw. Into a hot soup pan, heat up 2 tablespoons of olive oil and a couple teaspoons of sesame oil in the pan. My favorite cabbage recipe is chinese stir-fried, so I thought I’d start with my favorite flavor. The aroma is awesome, I don’t know why sesame oil pairs so perfectly with fried cabbage but it is.

I could stop here and enjoy the cabbage but the goal is soup! So, when the cabbage is perfectly cooked for stir fry, I add 2 quart-sized containers of chicken stock. I set the temp to medium and added 7 carrots chopped into chunks, 2 large beets cut to the same size as the carrots. If you ever cut up fresh beets, it’s like a bloody mess! You might be tempted to go show your dripping red hands to your husband, do it! DH thought I had cut myself! Mwah ha ha!

But seriously, it changed my mind about adding potatoes, the idea of pink potatoes nauseated me! Add 2 quarts of water and simmer for an hour and then add balsamic vinegar to taste, I added about a 1/4 cup but that’s me! Keep in fridge for a nice soup during the week, at 50 calories a serving it can be a snack as well as a meal!. If you use veg stock, you could eat it cold with a big dollop of plain greek yogurt!

Enjoy!

2 cups = 100 calories; 20 grams carb, 1 gram fat, 4 grams protein