Fresh herbs, fettucini & bacon (366 cal.)


Toss fettucine with bacon and herbs

This is similar to the carbonara I was taught by an Italian friend. I have omitted tossing the hot pasta in eggs. Rather than pancetta, I found a smoky, local, country-cured Virginia bacon. I chose basil, oregano, rosemary and thyme from my garden minutes before adding.

Herbs, peas, tomatoes and olive oil

Light Summer Carbonara

  • 1 lb. fettucine
  • 50 gm country cured bacon
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • 9 cherry tomatoes halved
  • chopped fresh herbs
  • 3 tb shredded parmesan cheese
bacon, onions

country cured bacon

Start water boiling for pasta. In a serving bowl mix olive oil, fresh herbs, tomatoes and frozen peas; set aside. Fry chopped bacon and onions until browned, drain well. Strain and quickly pour pasta onto herbs and peas, the hot pasta should thaw the peas to a just-picked freshness. add bacon mixture and toss well. At this point, we portion out the servings, including servings for lunch the next day. If we wait to save leftovers for lunch, we’d go hungry -we never have leftovers, so portion first! Sprinkle parmesan on each serving. It is easy to create one serving if you have a scale, place 100 grams of cooked pasta in your bowl, add a servings worth of the add-ins (they fall to the bottom of the bowl! My serving is on the right and my husband ha taken a portion for his lunch and added extra tomatoes and peas to my bowl; he takes more bacon and pasta but he is 6’3″ and 160 lbs, so he has a higher caloric need!

1 serving: 366 cal.,  49 gm carbs, 13 gm fat, 6 gm protein

3 servings, one for lunch tomorrow

3 thoughts on “Fresh herbs, fettucini & bacon (366 cal.)

    • John, I have to admit to a little Alfredo-longing but I had a few injuries, had a few hormonal disagreements and now I’m on a less than 1000 calorie a day life. BUT, there are days when a large meal is the meal LOL My Grandmother told me that eating like a hedonist would catch up to me and it did, she was right, again! I do have a few almost as good as heavy cream soups, which I’ll post soon. My husband is very thin and he thinks this tastes very Rich for the ingredients. If you try it, let us know! 🙂

Comments are closed.