His YaYa’s Summer Lamb


Dreaming of Lamb

three different types of basil

A Basil Trio

I’m from a diverse New Hampshire mill town, we had wonderful, ethnic corner-markets in close-knit neighborhoods. I loved invitations to dinner at the homes of my school friends. I was enthralled  with the wonderful aromas, exotic foods and spices. My boyfriend’s Greek Yaya taught me this recipe. When the first tomatoes in her garden were ripe, she made this. The family eagerly anticipated this dinner as the tomatoes ripened. It was so simple, just three main ingredients!

His YaYa’s Summer Lamb

  • 1 pound of lamb cut into cubes (608 cal.)
  • 2 or 3 perfectly ripe tomatoes, chopped into large pieces (77 cal.)
  • A cup of whole basil leaves (2 cal.)
  • 2 Tb extra virgin olive oil (240 cal.)

Pour olive oil in a large skillet and heat hot enough to sear the lamb. Use a wooden spoon, stir fast, cook until just done. Add in the tomatoes and basil, heat until just warm. Sprinkle with coarse salt. 4 servings
Per Serving: 232 calories, 4 gm carbs, 13 gm fat, 24 gm protein.

The fresh warm tomatoes, the whole bright green basil leaves and the tender lamb flavors are perfection. Try it this way, the first time, later you may try to add or alter the ingredients but you just can’t beat it! I’ve tried.

2 thoughts on “His YaYa’s Summer Lamb

  1. I know of a few places, nothing closer than an hour’s drive but that is okay. We have a local butcher, I heard he could order New Zealand lambs frozen, whole… lol The main thing holding me back was we raw fed our dogs for four years. The freezer was full of raw beef hearts and chickens, a bloody mess, literally. We’ve eased off that, so I guess I get the freezer back. I had actually forgotten my lamb quest until I saw your post! Thanks!

Comments are closed.