Unicorn Food, nuts, grains and fruits (190 calories)


a wholesome sweet fruit, grain & nut dish

any meal, dessert or a snack treat

I developed this for a picky child. She wouldn’t eat or drink until I changed the name. I assumed eventually she’d realize that it was the same and would just start eating on her own. If I poured a glass of milk for her brother, I’d ask before I poured her a glass: “Do you want horse, goat, goldfish or unicorn milk?” She’d tell me what she wanted, sometimes something not offered like hippopotamus milk. I poured her a glass from the same container I used for her brother… I am not sure why this worked for her but it did. I am sure this involved my natural sarcasm and frustration.

This is still perfect for any meal. I’ll eat it like porridge in the morning or in a lettuce cup for lunch. It is perfect for those days when you aren’t getting enough fruit. The grains are high fiber too! Even my husband likes it, the original picky child!

Ingredients:
    • 1 cup Brown Rice, long grain
    • .5 cup barley
    • 1 cup quinoa
    • .5 cup Raisins
    • .25 cup chopped Pecans
    • .5 cup Pineapple Tidbits packed in Pineapple juice
    • 2 Tbs Maple Syrup
    • Cinnamon, ground, 1 tbsp

I add all ingredients to my rice cooker, combine and add the water required by rice, quinoa and barley. I use the brown rice setting.

This makes 10 portions. So, don’t eat it all that would be 1,900 calories!

Single serving: 190 cal., 3.7 gm total fat, 3.9 gm salt, 37 gm carb., 4.5 gm. Protein

I am not giving the volume or weight for a single serving due to it being different each time I make it. It is usually a half cup, more or less. But, I like to be exact!

I calculate serving size by placing an empty serving bowl on the scale, taring it (reset zero to include bowl) and add the contents of the pot after cooking, now divide by 10! I then portion out the mix for freezing or lunches.

