Costco Doesn’t Have to be Evil :-)


I remember going to Sam’s Club and Costco with the Chris’s in Boston. I worked with one Chris and his partner was also named Chris. When we went to see Chris Isaac in concert it was Chrisapaloosa! But, that is another for another time… one thing I am a bit ashamed to admit was going to one of these super food club stores and watching fat families cruising the free samples. Of course, we were cool and bought necessities like large jars of marinated olives, wine and huge chunks of brie and crackers. Yeah, well, I guess I incurred the evil get-fat eye on one of our trips. I can only dream of a wedge of brie, cold champagne, crackers and olive medley… not to mention blue cheese stuffed olives, so, forget I said that! They also have gorgonzola stuffed olives… argkt!

80 calorie dark chocolate granola thins

80 cal dark chocolate granola thins

Now, many years later, I am one of the fatties and there I was in Costco. But, I avoided the samples, well except the Lara Bar samples! I did find food that fit into my tiny 1000 calorie days. For example, my life holds very little room for a hedonistic treat, so this required no contemplation at all!

I got two boxes and gave one to DH to take to work. These are so good! And there are many, one a day and that’s 48 days. Share a few and we are talking a happy month!

Dark chocolate and a healthy balance of carbs-fats-protein (11g, 4g, 1g). And did I mention dark chocolate? Manna from heaven!

Flatbreads

3 Flatbreads per 110 cal serving!

Microwave Quinoa and Brown Rice

Microwave Quinoa and Brown Rice 2 servings, 240 cal each!

Pink Salmon and Black Beans

Pink Salmon and Black Beans

Quinoa and Quinoa-Rice Mixture

Quinoa and Quinoa-Rice Mixture

Pistachios

Pistachios

Another Bag of Pinenuts

Another Bag of Pinenuts (pesto mania continues!)

red grapefruit portions

100 cal red grapefruit portions

three flavor box of greek yogurts

three flavor box of greek yogurts

