Aspartame-free Gum -an elusive beast!


Glee Gum and Stevita

Glee Gum and Stevita

So, aspartame (and all of it’s new secret names) gives me a migraine, a bad migraine, the kind that puts you in bed in a dark room thinking you may have a brain tumor. Even though numerous studies funded by the manufacturer of aspartame and looking at the biochemistry have found no link to anything bad. Rebel that I am, I still get major migraines when even the tiniest amount of aspartame is ingested, so call me simple, I chose to avoid it.

Twice recently I got caught by an aspartame trap. Chewing Gum! try to find gum without any aspartame… try to read a negative font size of ingredients!

I just needed to satisfy a chew urge while writing! It is so easy to snack, munch, etc. while writing. So, I needed to find a bit o gum to chew. It works for me, also keeps me writing!

Well, I googled and searched and found 2 brands and ordered each immediately.

They arrived today and right away I notice the Ingredients list and Nutritional info are readable! Both have 5 calories per 2 piece serving. I chose to try each in peppermint flavor.

GLEE gum:

made with chicle and 5 calories per 2 pieces
Ingredients:
Cane sugar, glucose, gum base (contains natural chicle), brown rice syrup, natural peppermint flavor, gum arabic, Resinous Glaze, Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, and Chlorophyll.
Made in Providence, Rhode Island by Verve, Inc.
Website for GleeGum

SteviaDent:

Ingredients:
Gum Base, Maltinol, Sorbitol, Xylitol, Glycerine, Natural Flavor, Gum Arabic, Stevita stevia extract, Resinous Glaze, Carnauba Wax, Soy Lecithin.
Made in Arlington, TX
Website for Stevita Gum

Conclusions:

The winner is GLEEGum!

Of course, this is based entirely on my own personal tastes and preferences but off the bat, I choose GLEE, even though the flavor is gone pretty fast, that’s okay with me, I’m just in it for the chew! I can live without chemical flavors anyway. LOL

A interesting tidbit of information:

Xylitol:

The flowing agent extracted from the birch tree bark seems to have several medicinal pluses. For example:  prevents cavities, ear infections, bad breath, and improves bone density. It is also safe for diabetics.

