Day Two -the adventure continues with breakfast…


Day Two Breakfast -4Free (gluten, eggs, dairy, soy) Muffins

Breakfast
2 muffins, brown rice protein drink, espresso: 590 calories, 106g carbs, 10g protein

Day Two started great, although I went to bed quite hungry. I woke up twice thirsty and took some swigs of French Lemonade, which is made with beet sugar. I know I said no sugar but I think realistically that is no white or processed sugars, and reduce to almost none of maple, honey, etc. –a little is almost impossible to avoid, especially since its in fruits and most vegan mixes.

Update: Husband says the muffins are weird but he can not tell yet whether he likes them or not or whether they are edible…
Later Update: After second muffin, he said “When we are done this diet, I never want to see another one of these…” I guess he doesn’t like muffins that taste like sweet, rubbery, foam. He went on (without encouragement) to eagerly tell me this is what ‘replicator’ food tastes like! (yeah, he’s one of those husbands LOL)
They feel like foam, not the lovely stuff on a cappuccino but the stuff in your sofa… I think they are too sweet but that might make them edible for DH. I feel hungry and wish I had something more substantial like meat for breakfast or kippers. –yeah, kippers lots o’protein! I may need a protein shake, maybe straight up rice milk with brown rice powder…

    4 Free Muffins

  • 1 box King Arthur Gluten Free Muffin Mix 1680c, 396g, 12g
  • 1/4 cup applesauce 25c, 14g, 0g
  • 2 Tablespoons ground flax mixed with 4 Tablespoons water  60c, 4g, 3g
  • 1/2 banana smooshed 45c, 12g, .5g
  • 3/4 cup rice milk 90c, 18g, 1g
  • 5 Tablespoons Coconut Oil  650c, 0g, 0g
  • 1 Tablespoon Coconut Manna 100c, 3g, 1g

1 dozen = 2650 calories, 447g carbs, 17.5g protein
each = 220 calories, 37.25g carbs, 1.5g protein

    Directions:

  1. preheat Oven to 375 degrees
  2. get coconut oil and manna liquid*
  3. Beat applesauce, banana and flax with rice milk until frothy
  4. add coconut oil and manna
  5. add dry mix, one 1/4 mix at a time
  6. divide among muffin cups

Notes:
Coconut Oil and Manna:
If you’ve never used this stuff, you’ll think something is wrong when it arrives, unless where you live the temperature is over 73 degrees. Otherwise, it will be solid and look like Crisco. But, place the tightly sealed jar in a dish of hot water and it will go liquid fast. The Manna separates, so once it is liquid stir it up good, it looks like a very thick cream.

My Deviations: Of course, I deviate and sometimes for no other reason but it is really early and I need more coffee, other times I have a good reason. First deviation was to replace 3 eggs with alternatives. I found three good choices, applesauce, flaxseed and banana. I decided to use all three, one for each egg since the recipe calls for 3 eggs. I replaced the butter with coconut oil. Using applesauce and banana means you can reduce amount of oil, so I replaced 1 Tablespoon with Coconut manna.

My Opinion: For me, this recipe isn’t great, I need at least 50 grams of protein a day but since I went over this by 20 grams yesterday, it will average out. I have learned to look at my average intake over a week, not to obsess on daily figures. It is sometimes helpful to have one day high balanced by one day low, or just accommodate a low or high day. By low and high I am talking about calories and protein. Calories are all about fat and sugar, so I am ignoring tracking fat for this sensitivity diet.

