A little penne pasta love


The dairy challenge since dairy is a fast acting allergen, DH gets a rash within minutes! I may be feeling a bit congested not sure. I will go back to no dairy to see if it clears up.

Breakfast was a super fruit smoothie:

  • 1/4 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 cup frozen papaya
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 cup white grape juice
  • 1 scoop dreaded pea protein powder

All in all it wasn’t so bad. I can still taste the pea and it is oddly disconcerting to my palette until I accept it and then its okay. I can beat the amount of protein, which I need.

Lunch was creamy mushroom soup, part of my dairy challenge with rice crackers.

Dinner was late, waiting for DH to come home, so I figured I’d take a picture of his supper but he ate it out of the pan LOL It was seriously delicious, which was a first for us this week.

Penne Pasta with feta, sautéd endive and pancetta.

Feta is goat cheese and I am assuming any dairy issues are cow. If not it fits challenge, will challenge feta alone later.

  1. In a bit of olive oil, sauté pancetta.
  2. Add two endives cut lengthwise into quarters.
  3. Cook gluten free penne pasta, drain and rinse in cold water.
  4. Add pasta to pan with endive and pancetta, stir to coat pasta.
  5. Add a little crumbled feta, sea salt, red pepper flakes and pinenuts.

This was so good, I will make again in a few days. DH agreed it was the best thing we’ve eaten on this sensitivity diet.

