Breakfast Pizza with a twist…


I love breakfast pizzas and quiche but even with an awesome vegan butter crust is seriously full of fat! I don’t know how this came to me but I found a work-a-round. I was thinking that I wish I had some phyllo dough but then my eyes fell on a package of large tortillas… I remember a friend from Bombay would rinse one under running water and toss it onto the racks of a hot oven for her dinner bread. The two ideas merged in my head and voila!

So, here is how I did it:

Breakfast Pizza:

    Ingredients:

  • flour tortilla
  • frozen chopped spinach
  • sweet onion
  • pancetta
  • eggs
  • grated pizza cheese (parmesan, mozzarella)
  • salt & red pepper flakes
    Instructions:

  1. Spray pie plate with oil.
  2. Rinse flour tortilla on both side with water, shake off excess water and form into pie plate.
  3. Spray frying pan with oil, fry pancetta, add onions.
  4. Sprinkle frozen chopped spinach into pie crust.
  5. Pour 4 beaten eggs over spinach.
  6. Top with pancetta and onions.
  7. Add shredded pizza cheeses on top.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees until set in center. It took me about 20 minutes. You can raise heat but eggs are better cooked at lower temp.
  9. Allow to sit for five minutes before slicing.
