January 5th, Gratitude for Slash


I am very grateful for the feathery and furry writing companions outside my window

my latest writing coach

my latest writing coach

You’d think I have enough furry friends with 4 Siberian Huskies but my dear husband recently put a shelf outside my window where I write. I keep the tray he attached with a mighty clamp filled with sunflower seeds and the railing of the deck sprinkled with bird seed. All day and into the night there is activity. First come the birds, many varieties: tufted titmice, Carolina chickadees and wrens, cardinals, blue jays, mourning doves, even woodpeckers! Then arrive the squirrels and one in particular will stare into the window until I say “Hi” with a wave or tap on the glass, then s/he continues eating. I named this one Slash for the split ear. Slash stays in the tray calmly eating, as long as I am writing. He is like a furry metronome 😉
So, I am grateful for Slash and the dear man who built the squirrel feeding station for me ❤

