Day 20, my Gratitude for Mr Gentleman, Mukki


Mukki waking me gently with his eyes

Mukki waking me gently with his eyes

Each of my dogs has a different and unique personality. Today I am grateful for our alpha male, Mukki. He is the gentleman of the house. He may have learned this from my husband, his BFF or it may just be the spot of Malamute you can see in him. It doesn’t matter, he is the one who comes running to kiss your tears away, he takes my husband’s side of the bed when he’s out of town and he demands a morning snuggle before he starts his day!

Begging for a donut

Begging for a donut

Mukki at the table

Mukki at the table

Mukki loves sitting at the table. He insists on having his own plate. This behavior was initiated and encouraged by his BFF, my husband. But, it’s my food that he wants! None of the other dogs seem to be able to master sitting in a chair, Quinn has tried and failed. This skill is added to the Alpha Male resume and Quinn is forced to accept his place on the floor! Mukki does not use aggression to maintain his alpha position, he uses a variety of little skills like a place at the table. This drives Quinn crazy but sends a definite message: “You can not be alpha until you have a place at the table with the tall man.”

A failed escape attempt

A failed escape attempt

Mukki also is our escape artist. Some escapes do not work out so well, I have no idea how he got under there but removing all the heavy rocks, stones and slate was not fun! When we lived in Mayberry, we walked the same route daily, up the hill, around the library, pass the post office and City Hall, where we stopped to pooper scoop! No one trained them to make a political statement, they came up with it on their own. I later heard that most dog walkers in the area used the front of City Hall, so our dogs were simply carrying on the American canine right of Freedom to poop!

His Royal Highness naps

His Royal Highness naps

When all is said and done Mukki, is the King of Comfort and enjoys his royal naps! Every piece of furniture is his or so he thinks! This cute little fainting couch is a favorite. Mukki can be found in any number of comfy places in our house and even hiding behind or under the bed in the spare room. Quinn has been trying to usurp the current leader and become alpha male, lucky for us -he has been unsuccessful to date. But, he is a brown-noser so often squeezes himself into the nap.

Mukki protected from the thunder brothers in his magic blanket

Mukki protected from the thunder brothers in his magic blanket

Mukki has few fears but one of his biggest is thunderstorms. If I am working, he insists on being under my desk and firmly placed between my legs. Or I can surrender and hug him as he shakes in terror. Recently we learned that wrapping him in this blanket helps. Mukki was found in the Blue Ridge Mountains and half dead. He was covered in ticks and fleas, emaciated and dehydrated. He was on an IV for days and no one knew if he’d survive. But he did and he is the best of the bunch (but don’t tell Tala I said it!) I can only imagine that Mukki lived through a few terrifying mountain thunderstorms as a lost and lonely puppy. Childhood traumas are a hard pill to swallow for human and dog!

Mukki drooling on my pillow

Mukki drooling on my pillow

As soon as I rise in the morning, he steals my place in bed and then drools on my pillow. Somedays I actually want to get back into bed but he has this magical power that enables him to turn into a sack of cement and he becomes impossible to budge! That is when I retreat in defeat to the spare room with Quinn, who figures I am better than nothing!

Mukki appreciates comfort

Mukki appreciates comfort

So, let’s here it for my second husband and our pack’s alpha male, Mukki. The sweetest predator in our house!

