Day 30: Gratitude for Internet Foodies


uniform_1963I am grateful for all the recipes, cooking demos and foodie bloggers on the Internet. It’s been a life-long struggle of mine to become a good cook. My love of food started in the Brownies when we were told to show up for Brownie Jamboree with an onion, a potato and a carrot… One of the leaders brought a big hunk of meat and all of these were added to a cauldron placed over a campfire in someone’s field. I’m sure there were other activities but I only remember the stew. This was probably my first lesson in portion control and it was tasty enough for me to offer to make it for my family while my mother was in the hospital for wrist surgery.

Good sauteed with onions, in a stew? –not so much!

Good sauteed with onions, in a stew? –not so much!

My attempt at cooking was well-intended and I’m guessing would have been tasty, had I paid closer attention to the large, hunk o’meat I found in the freezer. Sadly, it was a large frozen piece of bear liver. When my father came home and my sisters sad down to dinner there was great anticipation in my heart. I ladled out bowls of Brownie stew, each had an onion, carrot, potato and a hunk of meat. My lack of experience did not prepare me for the fact meat should not be the texture I found in the pot. My father’s reaction rivaled anything anyone would have seen on Archie Bunker. My sisters piled into the car and my father drove them to McDonalds for supper, a win-win in their opinion. I was left home to eat liver stew, which I stubbornly ate, but after all I was eleven years old.

The good that came from this doomed meal was a desire to cook. It’s been a real struggle and many throughout the my early years suffered though my attempts. I spent entire summers with Julia Child and the Galloping Gourmet. My successes were pretty hit or miss. When I was at NIH and later in Boston, I learned to cook the dishes my Chinese, Japanese and Italian friends made at home. This sparked a desire to virtually travel the world from my kitchen. When the Internet opened up global communication I stopped spending hundreds on cookbooks. On youTube, Indian Grandmothers show me how to make byrani, Yiddish women teach me how to make hamantaschen cookies, Japanese couples make homemade plum wine and I can make the gløg I drank with my Danish friends. The world is open to my mouth and it’s a wonderful world!

Here are a few of my favorite foodie friends and my favorites of their recipes:

  • Frugal Feeding Roasted Vegetable, Feta and Olive Orzo I leave out the olives in my husband’s serving but they are wickedly divine!
  • Sybaritica is a very enthusiastic amateur foodie like no other, his day job is Lawyer to the Arctic regions of Canada. He also reviews restaurants within his 2000 kilometer circle. From something as simple as roasted radishes to very ambitious efforts like Cioppino you’ll enjoy following this blog.
  • For another foodie blogger who lives in an isolated location yet manages to sing in the kitchen, try of agates and madeleines and her recipe for pear, apple, pecan tarte tatin!
  • How about Indian food at home? Visit Manjula’s Kitchen on youTube for familiar Indian foods and wonderful treats like Pistachio Phirni (rice pudding)
  • A hysterically funny Japanese couple’s site, Cooking with Dog will show you how to make plum wine or even a bento box!
  • And for one of my own favorite recipes, here on WTFville one I make every week for my dear husband’s lunches, stuffed french bread. He’s allergic to milk, so you’ve find many vegan friendly recipes here.
2 thoughts on “Day 30: Gratitude for Internet Foodies

Comments are closed.