Day 31: Gratitude for Spiru-tein


A flavor for every morning mood!

A flavor for every morning mood!

I am very grateful for Spiru-tein. My favorite flavor is cappuccino and I even add a few extra shots of espresso if I’m really jonesing for the caffeine. It is one of those health foods that doesn’t stab you in the back by sneaking in aspartame or high fructose corn syrup. It’s also all non-GMO. A quick look at the label is enough to show you that it has a healthy dose of Spirulina and lots of what’s good for you. I shudder when I look at the ingredients on the nutritional drinks for children and the elderly in the supermarket.

I have a lot of muscle mass for a woman, it’s about 32%. I discovered the hard way, I needed to eat at least 50 grams of protein a day or I risked losing muscle mass while dieting. That is a lot of tofu or worse eggs and steak. I am not a vegetarian but I know too much animal protein is bad for you. This is where Spiru-tein comes in for me 16 grams of protein and with 2 cups of low-fat milk, another 16 grams. I can start my day with 32 grams of healthy protein and concentrate on healthy meals for the rest of the day.

Any downsides? It’s pricey. I spend the time searching online for the best prices, it seems to be all over the board and each flavor seems to be priced differently. Amazon and Nature’s Way seem to be the most reliable, but it’s worth looking. When I started drinking it, a 2.4 pound can of Cappuccino flavor was $18 – $22 now it’s over $30 sometimes closer to $40. But, consider that is 32 servings or about a dollar a day. There aren’t too many meals in that price range. Even the products at the supermarket that ‘ensure’ a healthy meal replacement are much more expensive!

revitalizing green needs pineapple juice!

revitalizing green needs pineapple juice!

Upside, other than it’s good for me? It really makes me feel good. I feel energetic and satisfied. I have tried many flavors and some I didn’t like at all and others taste better mixed with apple juice or pineapple juice. If I want to cut the fats, I’ll use soy milk or almond milk. Oh, and there are tablets… 6 = a meal and are perfect if you are on the road or away on a convention or vacation. They are tasty but dry, so they also force you to drink those 8 cups of water each day, LOL.

This morning I am trying a new flavor based on the rave reviews of people on Amazon. Revitalizing Green Food… well, first off, I did not listen to the advice of reviewers on mixers. I used So Delicious Coconut Almond Milk and it’s not great. Reviewers recommend pineapple or apple juice and I can tell that would be much better! But, I’m still drinking it because my body needs it and that is far more important!

