Day 41: Gratitude for Virtual Travel


Villa Borghese

Villa Borghese

I am very grateful for virtual travel. While I’ve had many wonderful opportunities to travel, they have all fallen through. An Italian friend’s wedding in Rome was cancelled due to some trouble with her visa, she ended up marrying later to another man. The original wedding plans included me spending a month or two wandering around Italy staying with her family and friends.

I was also considering a job as a consultant in Japan, I’d be working with scientists headed for NIH polishing their English and more importantly their social skills. That ended when I alienated all of them with a slight mispronunciation of a simple word.oops-japanese

When I complained that every time I tried to say “see you later” (Mata atode aimashou!   またあとで会いましょう!) my version which sounded like ‘Mahtashda’ did not include a vital pause and I yelled out a very specific, erotic place on the male anatomy. When I saw the rage that resulted from the Japanese men, I thought it wise I not take up the offer. There was the Dutch fiasco, which was 100% not my fault but whatever… all I’ll say is sometimes the nicest people are actually devious, little shits.

carbonara

carbonara

Kofta

But, I have learned to virtually travel. I’ve learned to cook Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Provencal French, Scandinavian, Jamaican and lots of other regional dishes. I subscribe to AcornTV and Netflix, so I watch a lot of Australian shows and discovered Pavlova, a healthy desert. I also get to see village life in many countries around the world. I can watch a Japanese woman strive to make perfect Udon in the movie Tampopo, which also gives an insight into Japanese life and customs, let’s no even mention Shogun, oops. Watching Joanna Lumley travel down the Nile also reminded me of a girl I knew in college, who was spending a summer living with her father in Egypt, we were invited but explaining this to my husband, whose brain cancer had progressed to the point of not being able to explain this to him prevented me from riding from their home to the pyramids on horseback… although, I have learned to make some tasty Egyptian foods and I did feel like I was right there with Joanna Lumley!

My other way of traveling is Googling real estate for sale in other countries, which often gives me a peek into their homes, how they decorate and even set up their kitchens. I recently found  a lovely home in Tasmania on Crabtree Road, also down the road in the Georgia Coast on Kittles Island –not to be confused with a home in the Republic of Georgia, and in the Sierra Mountains near a friend in Paradise, California –I mean who wouldn’t want to live in Paradise?

I used to say someday, now I can travel everyday. I keep my life flexible, so if I ever get to fly away, I’ll still be connected to my words in cloud storage and my virtual friends. I am very grateful for the virtual nomadic life that is possible today.

