Day 54: Gratitude for the Sunrise Sky


My favorite sky

My favorite sky

I try to greet each day equally, like a parent who loves each child equally… after all each day is a gift, an unique treasure. But, that said –there is one sunrise that ushers in the day that takes my breath away. It’s a soft series of golden rays piercing a range of neutral blues, the cotten-batten clouds. I’ve tried a few times in my life to recreate this feel in colors in my bedroom, in poems and on canvas.

This morning, I was treated with this, my favorite sunrise. My desk faces east and there is a period each morning when it is impossible to work. I either need to move my laptop of sit enthralled by the sunrise. It’s not a difficult decision on mornings like this one. I can’t even capture it on my iPhone’s camera, the intense power radiating from the sun overwhelms the delicate grays and blue brush strokes cutting through the rays. Water, gaseous hovering water, how miraculous! That an ice cube in my iced coffee at one time was part of an ocean, a clouds and a glacier.

