Day 68: Gratitude for Monadnocks, markers to a distant past


pinnacleExitI am grateful for glimpses into our past. I can trace some branches of my family tree back nearly 2000 years, I love that I can reach back and read about their stories, but that is nothing compared to where I live now, Pilot Mountain, NC. Our town is in the shadow of an unusual type of mountain called a monadnock. I knew it was a Native America word, most of New Hampshire has kept the Native names for  mountains, rivers and towns but I never connected the word with Pilot Mountain. I learned that Monadnock is a name for a lone mountain that Native people’s used as a marker, a guide, a pilot.

fire on the mountain, local drama

fire on the mountain, local drama

close up of the knob

close up of the knob

What I never knew, was that ‘modnadnock’ wasn’t only the name of the mountain, it is also the type of mountain. Pilot Mountain is a quartzite monadnock, this region, the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountians was once a stormy beach, nearly a billion years ago; The Knob was once a remnant of ancient North America. According to Wikipedia, a monadnock or inselberg is an isolated hill, knob, ridge, outcrop, or small mountain that rises abruptly from a gently sloping or virtually level surrounding plain.

