Day 72: Gratitude for Daffodils


several vases of freshly picked flowers, ready to spread through the house

several vases of freshly picked flowers, ready to spread through the house

I am grateful for the daffodil that covers my property like a fairy festival. The woman who lived here for 30 years must have planted a few dozen every year because they become a yellow sea, welcoming the spring to me. The bright green shoots haves been emerging for weeks and a few days ago I saw the first five nodding in a breeze under a tree and in the dead leaves by the pond. I was procrastinating and feeling a lot like the poor guy in Alien, a big idea was inside me and well one always hopes it comes out on paper painlessly and not as a retching vomit or cramping dirt and especially not as a busted gut! Sorry for the word play but my mind woke in an artistic mood thinking of spring, gardening and daffodils.

the first to emerge

the first to emerge

Planting Words 
gardening wears me inside out
toiling to plant seeds, fertilize hope
each storm brings new tears
shed very gently, leaving room to cope
beauty will wait for a few years
while I dance and wave my arms about   
©2014 cjgasser
